Happy new year, and that

I make it a point never to make new year’s resolutions. They invariably fall by the wayside, making me feel inadequate and weak.

Then I realised it was because all my past resolutions have been unpleasant, including such clichéd vows as: I’ll give up drinking (howls of laughter ensue); I’ll give up smoking (I did, but not as a result of a new year’s resolution); I’ll eat less cheese (NEVER gonna happen); I’ll buy fewer shoes (unlikely).

So, this year I’ve decided to make resolutions I can keep:

  • Try something new at least once a week.
  • Buy more music.
  • Spend more time with my family.
  • Go to more gigs.
  • Improve my wardrobe: instead of purchasing several cheap items of clothing from random high street shops, spend a similar amount of money on one item that is beautiful, well-made, and will last.
  • Motorcycle road trip around Europe with some good friends.
  • Become a bloody brilliant pole dancer.
  • Go clubbing several times.
  • Cultivate an aura of calm togetherness.
  • Embrace the fact that I am now a corporate whore.
  • Run at least one half-marathon.
  • Be a better, kinder, funnier person.

I am going to revisit this post at the end of the year, and I predict that, for the first time ever, I will have accomplished everything on my list.

Happy new year folks. Make it a good one.

One response to “Happy new year, and that

  1. Pingback: Unexpected Developments Scupper New Year’s Resolutions | girlinclouds

Leave a Reply

