Got any jobs, mister?

No, really. Have you?

I’ve never been terribly forthcoming with blowing my own trumpet; I always felt it to be unseemly, immodest and a little bit vulgar. But frankly, if I’m not going to market myself, then who on Earth is?

Here is my situation: I am a creative, talented and enthusiastic writer and researcher who is currently on the lookout for a fabulous role with a fabulous organisation.

So, why am I looking? There is always the question of why I am currently in the market for a new job. That is perfectly valid, and I can tell you honestly: my last role, although it provided me with plenty of new skills and developed some existing ones, sadly wasn’t the right one for me. The job did not turn out to be what I thought it would be, and did not provide me with the opportunities that were indicated.

I can, however, provide you with numerous references from colleagues who will be glad to tell you what an asset I would be to your organisation. (That sounds terribly vain. In real life, I’m as modest as they come.)

I’m not going to present my entire CV in this blog post. That is available on my LinkedIn profile and is currently scattered far and wide across the internet. But I am going to tell you a little bit more about what I’m looking for.

Ideally, I’d like a role that allows me to scribble some words on paper, on the web and across the wide range of social media tools available to us. To be creative, to get a worthwhile message out to a wide audience. To have good ideas and be encouraged to implement them.

I really enjoyed my time in the busy press office of a national charity, and if I could find my way back into the not-for-profit sector that would please me greatly. It sounds trite, but getting important messages out to society – especially the more vulnerable citizens, using new and emerging media – was tremendously rewarding.

The Great Job Hunt is not limited to the charitable sector, however, and my interests are many and varied: I love science (I mean, I really love science), technology and motorcycles; running, jumping and aerial acrobatics; music and the theatre; yoga; camping; water (just generally – it’s fascinating stuff); and I am, ultimately, a bit of a tree-hugging hippy. So I’m up for almost anything.

Working for a living is obviously crucial, but money isn’t everything and job satisfaction and good career prospects are equally, if not more, important to me.

I have become aware, also, that it’s not just up to candidates to sell themselves to a company; the company has to sell itself to candidates. So I’ll be asking a lot of questions when I’m interviewed. I’m bright and interested in just about everything, so be prepared for a bit of a grilling.

Incidentally, I’m not sitting idly by and waiting for something to knock on my door: I’m getting myself out there, in the real world and the online one. My marketing experience is being put to good use for a couple of good friends who have their own businesses. I’m putting a lot of effort into my Open University degree in my free time. I’m keeping fit, practising for pole competitions and running obstacle races through knee-deep mud with friends.

So, it’s a bit of a cheek, this article, but worth doing anyway I feel. Please do get in touch with me via vicky<dot>j<dot>fraser <at> gmail<dot>com if you are recruiting, or simply fancy a chat!

UPDATE: Somewhat fabulously, I’ve been offered some freelance writing work with a rather lovely design agency. So I shall be doing that too. Today has been splendid.

Leave a Reply

